EMB Caraga technical team joined forces with DENR Caraga for the second wave of Task Force Siargao to intensify the monitoring and assessment of establishments within Siargao Islands, Surigao del Norte for their compliance to environmental laws and policies.

Task Force Siargao, which was relaunched on January 27, 2020 at Dapa Gymnasium, Brgy. 6, Municipality of Dapa was initiated last year in response to the call of DENR Caraga Regional Executive Director, Atty. Felix S. Alicer to protect and conserve the island being proclaimed as Siargao Islands Protected Landscape and Seascape (SIPLAS), the largest marine protected area in the Philippines through Proclamation No. 902.

This year, Task Force Siargao will be concentrating the work for two weeks within LGU-Dapa after LGU-General Luna on its first wave in 2019. Different teams were created to cover various establishments in said area. And EMB-13 technical persons were designated to lead each team.

Task Force Siargao will identify establishments that failed to comply the requirements of environmental laws, such as Presidential Decree 1586 (Environmental Impact Statement System), RA 8749 (Phil. Clean Air Act), RA 9275 (Phil. Clean Water Act), RA 6969 (Toxic Substances and Hazardous and Nuclear Wastes Control Act of 1990), RA 9003 (Ecological Solid Waste Management Act of 2000), and Presidential Decree 1067 (Water Code of the Philippines).

Violators of the law will be subjected to a technical conference then and shall face penalty as mandated by environmental laws and rules.

Aside from Task Force Siargao, EMB-13 vows to strengthen its regulatory function in enforcing its mandates in Caraga Region. (Cheryl M. Elpa)